BOARD OF PUBLIC EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING

DECEMBER 11, 2024

ZOOM ONLY

BOARD OF PUBLIC EDUCATION

AGENDA

BOARD OF PUBLIC EDUCATION MEETING AGENDA

December 11, 2024 Zoom

Board of Public Education meetings are open to the public electronically. For those wishing to give virtual public comment, please contact <u>bpe@mt.gov</u> to request the zoom link for the meeting. To watch the meeting streamed live, please visit the Montana Board of Public Education <u>Youtube</u>.

Wednesday, December 11, 2024 8:15 AM

CALL TO ORDER

- A. Pledge of Allegiance
- B. Roll Call
- C. Statement of Public Participation
- D. Welcome Visitors

Action may be taken on any item listed on the Board agenda. Per §2-3-103 MCA, the Board encourages public comment on any item prior to Board final action.

ADOPT AGENDA

*	CHARTER SCHOOL	COMMITTEE – Jane Hamman
---	-----------------------	-------------------------

8:30 AM	BUTTE PATHWAY ACADEMY – <i>30 Minutes</i> Judy Jonart, Superintendent; Ron Ricketts, Curriculum Director; Suzanne Evans, Curriculum Coordinator; Melissa Johnson, Special Education, Adult Basic Education, and Alternative Program Director; Keith Miller, Middle School Principal
9:00 AM	BIG HORN ACADEMY – <i>30 Minutes</i> Tobin Novasio, Superintendent; Jodeen Marston, School Board Chair; Taylor Sidwell, Principal; Autumn Whiteman, Counselor
9:30 AM	CENTRAL MONTANA CAREER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION ACADEMY – 30 Minutes Brad Moore, Superintendent; Jeff Southworth, School Board Trustee; Rhonda Long, Fergus County Superintendent of Schools; Mathew Lewis, High School Principal; Rebekah Rhoades, Business Manager
10:00 AM	LAUREL VIRTUAL ACADEMY – <i>30 Minutes</i> Matt Torix, Superintendent; Dr. Melissa Byington, High School Principal; John Stilson, High School Assistant Principal; Charla Wetsch, Director of Curriculum and Assessment; Brittani Hunter, School Board Chair
10:30 AM	LIBBY CENTRAL CHARTER SCHOOL – <i>30 Minutes</i> Ron Goodman, Superintendent; Scott Beagle, Curriculum Director (Principal if Approved); Alida Snow, School Board Chair
11:00 AM	LIBERTY ACADEMY CHARTER SCHOOL – <i>30 Minutes</i> Dan McGee, Superintendent; David Hofer, School Board Chair; Jenine Synness, Business Manager & Clerk; Todd A. Hanson, Managing Partner, 4 Poles

	Educational Consulting Group; Lona Running Wolf, Partner, 4 Poles Educational Consulting Group
11:30 AM	BREAK – 1 Hour
12:30 PM	LION'S PATH ACADEMY CHARTER SCHOOL – <i>30 Minutes</i> Don Christman, Superintendent; Gwen Poole, High School Principal; Cole Cavan, High School Assistant Principal
1:00 PM	MISSION CAREER FORWARD CHARTER ACADEMY – 30 Minutes Jason Sargent, Superintendent
1:30 PM	MONTANA CONNECTIONS ACADEMY – <i>30 Minutes</i> Dan Grabowska, Superintendent; Breann Streck, Board Member; Fred Anderson, Former State Representative; James Easton, Empowered Workforce Strategist, Montana Chamber Foundation; Donna Hutchison, Vice President of Partnerships and Policy, Pearson Virtual Schools
2:00 PM	RONAN CHARTER ACADEMY – <i>30 Minutes</i> Mark Johnston, Superintendent; Sandra Beal, Director of Curriculum, Federal Programs, and Grants; Kevin Kenelty, High School Principal; Frank Jobe, Middle School Principal
2:30 PM	SOAR ACADEMY – <i>30 Minutes</i> Todd Fiske, Superintendent; Scott March, High School Principal; Sheree Jenkins, Middle School Principal; Chrissy Hulla, Elementary School Principal; Ali Bristow, High School Counselor; James Baxley, Teacher; Bobbie Kettlehut, Board Member; Jeff Wium, Parent/Community Member; Gabe Wium, Student
3:00 PM	YELLOWSTONE EXPERIENCE SCHOOL (YES) – <i>30 Minutes</i> Baily Goodwine, Board of Trustees Chair; Leslie Kennedy, Applicant; Emily Post, Applicant

PUBLIC COMMENT

This time will be provided for public comment on items not listed on the agenda. This meeting is open tothe public both in person and electronically. For those wishing to give virtual public comment, please contact <u>bpe@mt.gov</u> to request the Zoom link for the meeting. Members of the public who have joined virtually on Zoom may "raise their hand" at the appropriate time to participate after being recognized bythe Board Chair. Members of the public who wish to share written public comment with the Board members must submit written public comment to the Executive Director at <u>bpe@mt.gov</u> no later than two (2) business days before the start of the meeting. Any written public comment will be included as part of the official public record.

ADJOURN

The Montana Board of Public Education is a Professional Development Unit Provider. Attending a Board of Public Education Meeting either in person or via Zoom may qualify you to receive professional development units. Please complete the necessary information on the sign-in sheet if you are applying for professional development units.

Agenda items are handled in the order listed on the approved agenda. Items may be rearranged unless listed "time certain". Public comment is welcome on all items listed as "Action" and as noted at the beginning and end of each meeting.

The Board of Public Education will make reasonable accommodations for known disabilities that may interfere with an individual's ability to participate in the meeting. Individuals who require such accommodations should make requests to the Board of Public Education as soon as possible prior to the meeting start date. You may write to: Kris Stockton, PO Box 200601, Helena MT, 59620, email at: <u>kmstockton@mt.gov</u> or phone at 406-444-0302.

CALL TO ORDER

- A. Pledge of Allegiance
- B. Roll Call
- **C.** Statement of Public Participation
- D. Welcome Visitors

PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL APPLICATIONS AND LINKS

Click on the name of the public charter school to access the application



Board of Public Education

BOARD MEMBERS

APPOINTED MEMBERS:

Tim Tharp, Chair Savage

Susie Hedalen, Vice-Chair Townsend

Ron Slinger Miles City

Renee Rasmussen Clancy

Lisa Schmidt Conrad

Jane Lee Hamman Clancy

Madalyn Quinlan Helena

Gavin Mow, Student Rep. Helena

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS:

Clayton Christian, Commissioner of Higher Education

Elsie Arntzen, Superintendent of Public Instruction

Greg Gianforte, Governor

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR:

McCall Flynn

List of 2024 Public Charter School Applications

- 1. Big Horn Academy
- 2. <u>Butte Pathway Academy</u>
- 3. <u>Central Montana Career and Technical Education</u> <u>Academy</u>
- 4. Laurel Virtual Academy
- 5. Libby Central Charter School
- 6. Liberty Academy Charter School
- 7. Lion's Path Academy Charter School
- 8. Mission Career Forward Charter Academy
- 9. Montana Connections Academy
- 10. Ronan Charter Academy
- 11.SOAR Academy
- 12. Yellowstone Experience School (YES)