## Montana Community Choice Schools Commission Policy Development Steering Committee

# **2024 Steering Committee Members:**

## **<u>Rulemaking/Policy Development Subcommittee of the MCCSC:</u>**

<u>Dee Brown</u> Location: Flathead County, MT <u>Jon Rutt</u> Location: Yellowstone County, MT

<u>Trish Schreiber</u> Location: Powell County, MT

## Participating Legislator:

Rep. Sue Vinton, House Majority Leader 2021 and 2023 Community Choice Schools Act bill sponsor, 2023 Location: Yellowstone County, MT

## **Steering Committee Volunteer Members:**

Keith Donahue

Associations: Director of School Strategy and Operations with Bluum, Inc.; Board Member of Sage International Network of Charter Schools; Board Member of Future Public Charter School

Location: Boise, Idaho

<u>Dr. Ramey L. Escarcega-Growing Thunder, Dakota/Dine</u> Association: Director of Fort Peck Tribes Language and Culture Department since 2012

Association: Director of Fort Peck Tribes Language and Culture Department since 201. Location: Roosevelt County, Montana

<u>Connie L Filesteel</u> Association: Founder and President of Aaniiih and Nakoda Montessori Academy Fort Belknap Indian Community Location: Blaine County, Montana

<u>Joe Hoffer</u>

Associations: Managing Partner at Schulman, Lopez, Hoffer & Adelstein, LLP; Charter School, Nonprofit and Education Law Attorney licensed in TX, AR, AZ; Sustaining Life Fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation; Board Member at Teach for America-San Antonio; and, Board Member at Texas Public Charter Schools Association Location: San Antonio, Texas Heather Irving

Associations: Home educator; mom of a charter school graduate Location: Lewis and Clark County, Montana

### Melissa Mackedon

Associations: Executive Director of the Nevada State Public Charter School Authority (SPCSA); SPCSA board member for 12 years and four years as Chair; Charter School Association of Nevada board member for 10 years; contributing founder of and CEO of Oasis Academy, a 5-star K-12 charter school in rural Nevada Location: Nevada Resident

<u>Jacquie Maughan</u> Associations: Executive Director of Access Montessori Location: Lewis and Clark County, MT

Lea Ann Munkres

Associations: College administrator, superintendent, and pioneer in charter initiatives; Dallas College/Richland Collegiate High School Location: DFW, Texas and Missoula County, MT

Alyson Murphy

Associations: Partner at the National Charter Schools Institute; attorney Locations: Michigan

### Aidan Myhre

Associations: Owner of AM Consulting, Government and Public Affairs; former Helena School Board Trustee (2008-2017) and Board Chair (2015-2017); appointed to the School Funding Interim Commission (2015-2016) Location: Lewis & Clark County, MT

Matthew Roth

Associations: Chairman Florence Carlton School Board; Adjunct Professor; Leadership Development Consultant; Paramedic Location: Ravalli County, MT

### Don Soifer

Associations: CEO National Microschooling Center; former charter authorizer; national researcher on education innovation and school quality measures Location: Nevada

### Megan Upton

Associations: Wife, mother of two children, business owner, Columbia Falls school board trustee, President of the Flathead Valley CCS Founding Group Location: Flathead County, MT